My Journey Along the Narrow Way

Lately I have been thinking about life and just how hard it seems most of the time.  It seems the longer I go along, the harder things become.  Now I finally understand why people long for the “good old days” because looking back it certainly seems like everything was much easier when I was younger.

But maybe it really wasn’t easy.  I don’t think it seemed easy at the time.  I think I just tend to forget the problems, frustrations, and day-to-day grind that was as much of the past as it is today.   If I really think hard I can remember my car not working, not having enough money to pay the bills, the baby crying all night and still having to get up and go to work in the morning.  I remember some days crying on the way to work because I didn’t want to drop off my baby at the sitter and then also remember almost feeling a giddy sense of freedom some mornings after dropping the same baby off.  I remember thinking that “someday” life would get easier.

I think this is a problem that a lot of us struggle with.  Not being really content where we are but always thinking if I was…richer, skinnier, stayed at home, more educated, better dressed…you name it…I would be happier and things would be easier.  But guess what?  Thinking like that we are never content.

I look back and realize I have wasted so much time not just living, being content, and enjoying this moment.  And there really are so much in this moment to enjoy.

Both my adult children live at home right now.  While this can certainly be a source of stress sometimes, this is also a blessing.  There will be a time…not too far in the future… where they will no longer live in our home.  That era of our life will be over forever.  I will miss them being here.  I need to enjoy the little moments while they are here.

My furniture has dog hair on it.  While this also can be a source of stress to me, I need to realize that my furniture has hair on it because I have three wonderful, loving, funny basset hounds that I love dearly.  There will come a time when each of them will leave us.  I will miss them terribly.  So what if there is shedded hair on the furniture.

I think that instead of looking back to what is gone (my babies are all grown up)…or looking forward to something new (grandbabies!)…I need to enjoy right where God has placed me at this moment in my life.  Is where I am really just happenstance or an accident?  No…it’s where I am meant to be right now for whatever purpose and plan God has for me.  And He would like for me to enjoy this time and experience for what it is, not what it could be, or what is missing.

I saw a sign that said, “Enjoy the little things because one day you will wake and realize those were the big things.”  I resolve to enjoy the little things and learn to be content right where I am.

 

Leave a Reply

