My Journey Along the Narrow Way

 I’ve always wanted to be one of those women like my mother was.  In fact, pretty much my entire adult life has been spent trying to figure out how to be her.  You see, my mom was one of those women that are so rare.  She had that “quiet and gentle spirit” that the Bible speaks about.  She was loved by all: I never once heard anybody at anytime say anything negative about her.  She was always calm, no matter what.  I never, ever heard her say one negative thing about anyone. 

For example, there was this one woman in our church growing up.  She had really bad arthritis, the kind where her fingers looked mangled.  She was absolutely the hardest person to be around.  She was extremely negative all the time.  However, my mother agreed to drive her to and from her doctor’s appointments.  My mother actually seemed to enjoy her time with “Miss Emma”. 

I want to be that way.  I want to be content, no matter my circumstances.  I want to take joy in everything I do…without grumbling.  The problem is, that is not my personality naturally and I don’t know HOW to be that way.

1 Peter 3:3-5, speaking to women, says:

3Your beauty should not come from outward adornment, such as braided hair and the wearing of gold jewelry and fine clothes. 4Instead, it should be that of your inner self, the unfading beauty of a gentle and quiet spirit, which is of great worth in God’s sight. 5For this is the way the holy women of the past who put their hope in God used to make themselves beautiful.

That really, really is convicting to me.   And really, really impossible for me to attain.  You see, I’ve never been that kind of woman.  I’ve never been called gentle or had someone refer to my quiet spirit.  But I really want to be that woman.  So, I’ve asked God to help me in this area. 

Recently, I’ve had some success in this area.  I realize it is all God’s work, and God’s alone.  But He has helped me keep quiet lately when I was upset and stressed.  He has helped me tame my tongue.  However, I realize that this is definitely a work in progress.  And it will take a long, long time.  But, Lord willing, maybe one time I will be that kind of woman.  And one day someone will tell me I remind them of  my mother, or even better, that I remind them of Christ.

Proverbs 31:30

Charm is deceptive, and beauty is fleeting;
       but a woman who fears the LORD is to be praised.

Comments on: "That Kind of Woman…" (2)

  1. Karen Hurlbut said:

    I had the pleasure of spending time with your mother, and you’re right–she was so kind, calm, quiet, and focused on serving others. I remember so much, from learning the basics of silkscreening to enjoying those fantastic homemade chocolate chip cookies.

    But there’s also a time to be joyful and sing and express yourself, and I see that in you. I don’t think your mother would have written a blog, yet your blog is very inspirational to so many people. She quietly shared her faith with others in small groups, whereas I see you sharing with larger groups out loud.

    It takes all kinds, and it’s fantastic that you recognize what was so special about your mom.

    Love,
    Karen

    • debeyepps said:

      Thanks Karen. Those are such kind words. I appreciate your memories of my mother, that is so precious to me. Thanks also for your kind words about my blog. I wish I could say I try to be inspirational, it’s more that I just start typing and whatever is in my mind comes out. I do hope that I can touch somebody, sometime and maybe point them toward Christ along the way.

      Love, Debey

Leave a Reply

