My Journey Along the Narrow Way

I’m Cured…

Recently, I had a troubling experience with an infection. Through a strange set of circumstances, I ended up finding out that I had brought something more than souvenirs back with me on my trip to Indonesia. The worst part of the whole experience was the fear that I had infected my husband and children as well.

It ended up that I was the only one infected (due to a shot that didn’t quite “take”). Of course, I was very thankful for that. But it did get me to thinking…

I am completely and totally infected with sin. You are too. In fact, we all are. Yet we never think about how this sin infection is affecting and infecting our family, our friends, and even complete strangers.

Every day we walk around spreading this infection around through our actions. Everything we do, even with the best of motives, is sin-filled and dirty in the eyes of our Holy God.

We are called to be light to those around us. How can we be the light that points others to God when we are full of dark, dirty sin? The bad news is – we can’t. The good news is – Jesus can. And He does it through us when we trust in Him and ask Him to be our Lord and Savior.

And in this dirty, dark world, Jesus is a bright light. Like a lighthouse in the ocean that keeps ships from crashing into shore, Jesus shows us the way with His light. We are drawn to this light like a moth to a porch light.

So, with Jesus within me, I am now a lighthouse to the lost and searching people around me. I reflect this light to everyone around me…even fellow believers! I am no longer a person infected with sin dragging down people; I’m a light showing people the way.

I’m cured!

Comments on: "I’m Cured…" (1)

  1. altonwoods said:

    The bad news is – we can’t. The good news is – Jesus can. And He does it through us when we trust in Him and ask Him to be our Lord and Savior.

    Made me think of this…

    1 Corinthians 15:30-31 And why stand we in jeopardy every hour?

    I protest by your rejoicing which I have in Christ Jesus our Lord, I die daily.

Leave a Reply

