My Journey Along the Narrow Way

The Big Poop…

Sometimes our family likes to play practical jokes. Not too often or the obnoxious type that no one likes and someone gets mad about, but the really funny ones where you really “get” someone else.

Way back in the day when Bella and Joey were in elementary school, our beagle Buster was around two years old. Buster was a really hard headed dog and he was going through the dog equivalent of the “terrible twos.” Every dog we have had has gone through a period like this. I really think it is like their adolescence. They have been trained but the willfully disregard it. They get mad sometimes and act out.

Well, Buster was all about acting out. He would get so mad at us when he got into trouble. He especially would get really mad at Bud. Every time Bud would really get onto him, Buster would sneak into our bedroom and pee or poop on Bud’s side of the bed. Every single time. This understandably, made Bud furious.

One day while Bud was at work, me and the children decided to go to the mall. We ended up looking around at Spencer’s and found the best joke prop ever…a really realistic looking poop. It was great – the perfect look, shape, and size to really play a prank on Bud. So we bought the poop. That in itself was pretty crazy to think about. We actually paid money for a plastic piece of poop. But it was going to be well worth the money.

We got home and we placed the poop right smack dab in the middle of Bud’s brand-spanking-new La-Z-Boy recliner and waited…

Finally Bud got home from work. It had been long enough we all had pretty much forgotten about the fake poop in the chair. We were all sitting around watching something on TV when Bud came home.

Bud went straight for his chair; saw the poop, and starting yelling: “I know I’m not seeing what I think I’m seeing.” Of course, we all started laughing hysterically. However, Bud was furious. And yelling about “killing a dog.”

There I am laughing so hard I’m almost crying and at the same time trying to grab Bud and explain that it’s a fake poop before he kills Buster! And anyone who knows me knows once I start laughing it is really hard for me to stop. So he is getting more and more frustrated with me because he can’t understand what I’m saying and I won’t let go of him so he can kill the dog. (Just so you don’t think badly of Bud, he really wouldn’t have killed him…at least I don’t think he would have.)

We had more fun with that fake poop. We ended up using it on my in-laws and eventually on both kids. But nothing was as much fun as Bud and the fake poop!

Comments on: "The Big Poop…" (3)

  1. theworldofmojo said:

    That is too funny. I can see the look on Bud’s face and you laughing uncontrollably.

  2. debeyepps said:

    I wish I still had the poop. We had so much fun with it. Not to mention the fake ice cube with the big roach in it. That one was hysterical too.

  3. debeyepps said:

    Bud did get me with a fake grasshopper one time but it was a couple days after surgery and I wanted to kill him but I couldn’t move that quick yet.

Leave a Reply

