My Journey Along the Narrow Way

crincamp

“All flesh is grass, And all its loveliness is like the flower of the field. The grass withers, the flower fades, Because the breath of the Lord blows upon it; Surely the people are grass.” Isaiah 40:6b-8

As I read this Scripture, I think back over my life. I am definitely past the bloom stage of a flower, but I’m not quite yet a dead flower either.

I am at the point in my life where I’m that dreaded phrase “middle age”. My children are grown and about to fly out of the nest. I’m not starting anything new. I’m not starting a job, starting a family, starting a marriage.

All in all, it’s a pretty good place to be. Of course, there is sadness over the end of some things. I’m feeling the empty nest creeping up on me even now. And there is sadness over my children not being right here, a part of my life every moment of every day.

However, I do feel like there are some parts of my life that would be considered “late bloomers”. I think about my marriage. It’s been a routine for many years now. Kind of on hold…not fading but not blooming more, kind of like baby’s breath flowers. They never change.

I’m not saying this has been a bad thing about my marriage. I just think that is how it is when you are raising children. You get into the routine of what needs to be done, taken care of, washed, cooked, cleaned, etc. It doesn’t mean you love each other any less, it just means that your marriage isn’t always the most immediate thing that needs to be tended to at that moment.

But now I am seeing that as the nest empties, the flower of marriage is set to really start blooming. There will be more time for each other. Not near as many interruptions. More resources to spend on each other.

I think God gives us this time after our children move on to renew and refresh our marriage. To fertilize it and water it and make it bloom. That way when we people begin to fade as do flowers, we have a companion fading right along side of us.  Someone to love us despite the bloom having faded, the hair turning gray, the skin getting wrinkled.

What a gift from God this is!  To me it is such a picture of God’s never-changing, never-failing love for us as well.

I may be fading, my bloom is sagging some, but the flower of life is even more beautiful.  The love of God is even more nourishing.

“Lord, have mercy on us in our frail and fallible condition.  You are very powerful, and we are but grass.  We flourish and are gone.  Grant us grace to trust that You are good in all Your works and all Your ways.  May we never doubt Your sovereignty, even in the most painful times.  Let the bones which You have broken rejoice.  Though You cause grief, have compoassion on us according to Your steadfast love.  In Jesus’ name, Amen.”  John Piper, Life as a Vapor

Leave a Reply

