My Journey Along the Narrow Way

(Bella said that my posts were getting too serious all of the time…so here’s a fun story from “back in the day”!)

When Joey was four years old, he became a monster! Not your usual, spoiled brat kid monster, but a Peanut Butter Monster.

We lived in Brandon, Mississippi at the time. And But worked as a Receiving Manager for Sam’s Club from 4:00 a.m. to about 4:00 p.m. during the week. So we wouldn’t have to get day care, I stayed at home with Joey and was home when Bella came home from school. When Bud came home around 4:30, I would go to work several days a week at Wal-Mart in the evenings. I usually would get home until around 12:00 or 1:00 a.m.

Bella’s bus picked her up for school at 6:30 in the morning. As you can imagine, only getting around five or so hours of sleep per night did not work for me. So, every morning, I would get up and get Bella ready for school, feed her breakfast, and get her off on the bus. When Joey and I came back in to the apartment, we would go into my bedroom. I would take a couple hour nap and Joey would play on my bed or watch TV. It was a really good scenario as Joey was a very good child and would rarely even leave my room. He would just play quietly and let me sleep.

One day, Bella was home from school and I had worked the night before. Even though we were able to sleep in a little longer than usual after lunch Bella and I were ready for a nice nap. Joey was never a good napper once he was past about one (ask his kindergarten teacher). So Bella and I lay down to nap and Joey had to go to his room and lie on his bed and quietly play. Like I said, this had never been a problem in the past….

Bella and I slept around 1 ½ hours. And when we woke up, there was a monster in the house! A Peanut Butter Monster!!! You see, Joey had a great idea while Bella and I slept. He decided to become a “monster” while we were sleeping and scare us when we woke up. So he went to the pantry and got the jumbo jar of Jiffy and a butter knife and started applying chunky peanut butter on himself. He thickly put it on from the top of his head to the soles of his feet.

Joey - 1993

Joey - 1993

The problem was that he decided to do this not long after we fell asleep. And he waited, and waited, and waited…on the sofa, on his bed, on the carpet, against the wall, etc. You get the idea…there was absolutely no place in our apartment that was touched by chunky peanut butter.

I wasn’t very scared, but I was horrified. I normally love peanut butter, but after cleaning it up for days – and finding it places even months later – I still get a little sick when I smell it to this day.

So now you know about the Peanut Butter Monster…I hope he doesn’t visit your house anytime soon.

Comments on: "The Peanut Butter Monster…." (1)

  1. theworldofmojo said:

    I so don’t want my son to hear about this

Leave a Reply

