My Journey Along the Narrow Way

Wildflowers…

I love it when I’m driving along on the interstate and see wildflowers. They are only there for a brief time during the spring (and probably are what causes all these allergies), but I love them. Every time I see them I just thank God for sending me these beautiful flowers. They are all different beautiful colors: red, purple, yellow, orange; and all shapes and sizes.

That is just like our God to send these little bursts of His love for us to see while driving along to work or school every day. It’s just a little “I love you” from Him to us to start off the day.

And looking at the flowers makes me think of the verses of Matthew 6:25-33 “For this reason I say to you, do not be worried about your life, as to what you will eat or what you will drink; nor for your body, as to what you will put on. Is not life more than food, and the body more than clothing? Look at the birds of the air, that they do not sow, nor reap nor father into barns, and yet y our heavenly Father feeds them. Are you not worth much more than they? And who of you by being worried can add a single hour to his life? And why are you worried about clothing? Observe how the lilies of the field grow; they do not toil nor do they spin, yet I say to you that not even Solomon in all his glory clothes himself like one of these. But if God so clothes the grass of the field, which is alive today and tomorrow is thrown into the furnace, will He not much more clothe you? You of little faith!”

Just seeing these flowers are such a reminder to me that God is taking care of me and my family during these tough times. I don’t have to worry about food and clothing (and housing and car payments, etc.)…God has got this.

He does not need my worrying to help Him along. 1 Peter 5:6-7 says “Therefore humble yourselves under the mighty hand of God, that He may exalt you at the proper time, casting all your anxiety of Him, because He cares for you.” You see that? He cares for you (and me).
That is such a revelation to me at times. I think, “Why would God take care of me? Why would He make sure I have what I need?” I think I feel that way sometimes because I understand that I’m just a worm and God is the one true Living God. But I tend to forget about the other part…that God loves me!

There is this great verse in Zephaniah 3: 17 that my dear, sweet friend Sarah Jones gave to me. Oh how I love this verse. It says, “The Lord your God is in your midst, a victorious warrior. He will exult over you with joy, He will be quiet in His love, He will rejoice over you with shouts of joy.” Wow! That is exactly what I wrote next to this verse in my Bible. And reading this I see that depth of God’s love and the care of me (and you!) that He gives us every day.

So, in the next few weeks when I am driving around in my car, I’m going to look at the wildflowers on the side of the road and not worry….not stress….because I know God cares for me! Praise God from whom all blessings flow!

Leave a Reply

