My Journey Along the Narrow Way

God Knows…

At our house, with four cars, there is a method to parking so no one gets blocked in. The first two home get to park in the carport (which is always the preferred spot but especially when it’s going to be cold or raining the next morning). The last two home have to drive straight up the driveway and up against the fence.

Last Wednesday, Bella and I were coming home from church together. My car was number four in that night so we parked up against the fence. As we pulled up, Bella noticed something in the fence in the headlights. Honestly, I thought it was just the way the leaves were arranged but Bella swore it was something there.

So we left the headlights on and took a look. And it was something…it was this little bird sitting in the fence in the middle of one of the links about a third of the way down. Something had obviously happened to the little guy. He was just sitting there and as we came up to him, he just sat there and looked at us. He was aware of us because Bella and I were on each of side of him and he would look at one of us and then at the other. But something was quite right with him either. It was like he was in a daze. He didn’t fly away and he even let Bella touch his side. (I myself didn’t attempt this because I didn’t want it to suddenly to go crazy and peck my eyes out or something. I guess I shouldn’t have watched the Alfred Hitchcock movie “The Birds” that time…)

After getting Joey to come out and look at our new friend, we went on inside for the night. But I kept thinking about that little birdie. I wondered what had happened to him to that he would just sit right there when we came up. I wondered if he had hit a window and been grazed by a car to make him so dazed.

The next morning as I went to my car to go to work, I looked to see if he was still there. I was pretty sure that I would find his little body dead on the ground. But there he was…still sitting in the same section of fence looking at me. He seemed much more alert this time but showed no inclination to fly off.

He was on my mind all day but when I got home Thursday evening he was gone. I searched all around on the ground just to be sure he hadn’t died but I never found him and I wondered what had happened to him: why had he been there, where was he now…

I realized that I would never know why that little bird was there…but God knows. The Scripture says in Matthew 10:29, “Are not two sparrows sold for a copper coin? And not one of them falls to the ground apart from your Father’s will.” Isn’t that a comforting thought? No matter what is going on in our life, God knows. He is not taken by surprise or unaware of even the littlest thing that happens or that we are going through. Just like with that little bird.

What a wonderful thought…God knows. Such a short sentence but so profound. So when I wake up feeling sad, missing my mom…God knows. When someone says something that really hurts…God knows. When I do something really nice for someone that no one sees…God knows. When I slam my finger into the door and curse…God knows. Wait – that last one – that’s not good.

You see, God knows everything. The good, the bad, and the ugly. And if truth be told, it’s probably a lot more bad and ugly than good. A wonderful thought, but a scary one too.

That’s where the good news comes in. God knows it all…but He also made a way for us to be forgiven for the bad and the ugly stuff He sees in our hearts and minds! And that is one of the innumerable things that makes God so awesome…He knows and He still loves us. He knows and He made a way to wash us clean. He knows and He still chooses us to be called “Children of God.”

So next time I see a little bird – be it flying in the air or sitting on the fence – I am going to meditate on the fact that God knows…

Leave a Reply

