My Journey Along the Narrow Way

The next Sunday we went to church but Bud again had to work. After the sermon, at the time of invitation, I was singing and I felt like someone was pushing me out of the pew. It was an actual physical feeling. I knew I couldn’t just stand there, I had to walk…to the front…right then…and pray to receive Jesus. I started going out of the pew but Bella started hanging on my arm and telling me not to go. I just brushed her off and walked to the front.

I was so excited to pray to receive Jesus. I also filled out the card to join a FAITH team then and there.

Our lives changed totally within that period of a few weeks. The first thing I noticed after my salvation was that the anger was gone. And I had a totally different perspective on why God took my mother. I finally understood that all my prayers that he heal my mother HAD been answered…just not in the way my selfish self wanted. God did the ultimate healing and took her out of her pain and suffering to be with Him in Heaven!!! Oh how selfish I was for wanting her here with me, suffering. I had a sense of peace and joy that I had never had anytime in my adult life. We made friends and had friendships that were so different from anything we had ever experienced before.

I would love to say: and we lived happily ever after. But that isn’t the Christian life. While I know that in the end we will live happily ever after as we spend eternity praising our holy God, I know that there are and will continue to be trials and tribulations.

For example: a few years after we Christians, Bud lost his job yet again. Our income was cut about 2/3rds in one day. I had just bought a new car four days prior to him losing his job because Bella had been in a car accident and my car was totaled. Joey was also starting at a private school the week after Bud lost his job. Bella was a senior in high school with all the extra expenses that entails.

Bella & Joey

Bella & Joey

But God was so faithful to us. He worked through many people and circumstances around us to ensure that our family had what we needed. One time we didn’t know how we were going to pay tuition for Joey’s school for the month. We hadn’t confided this to anyone (except God). The last day to pay before getting a penalty, I decided I would just pay it and then figure out how to pay our power bill and get groceries later. When I got to the school to pay, I was told that the tuition had been paid for that month. The school wouldn’t tell us who paid it because the donor wished to remain anonymous. To this day I don’t know who God used to pay that tuition, but I do know with all my heart that God did lead someone to pay it.

Several times, when we needed to pay a utility bill, we would get a notice from the utility company that we had overpaid sometime in the last year and there was no payment due for that month.

Through several job situations, God has remained faithful to provide for us and to put us in a position to be able to survive. And God also has changed my husband so much. He is such a godly man who worked any and every job to ensure that his family had what they needed.

Life is so, so good. We have had so many ups and downs but always knowing God was right there with us. Loving us, providing for us, guiding us, and even chastising us. God still has to knock us over the head with a two-by-four. But He has been faithful to us. And best of all…Bud was recently ordained as a deacon in our church. Eight short years ago Bud was an in-your-face atheist and now he is a deacon. What else can I say but…..God is so good!

(The End) =-)

Comments on: "Falling in Love (or God’s Plan for My Life), Part IX…" (2)

  1. Wow! What a blessing to be at home not feeling well…and have this to read! Debey, thanks so much for sharing it and opening your heart this way! I have grown to love your family so much in the last few years….and continue to marvel at God’s grace on us all!!!!

Leave a Reply

